Skip to content

Bras!

August 4, 2010

Most people’s bodies are slightly larger on their left side than on their right.  If it’s noticeable, it’s probably in your feet, …or in your bra cup size (that is, if you’re a bra-wearing lady).

Not that women’s bodies have changed significantly in the last 100 or so years since the bra was invented, but finally a lingerie manufacturer has figured out a way to make bras that fit – you choose a size for each side and snap them together.

This probably has a lot to do with the way people think about women’s underwear.  There are a lot of people who are credited with making the “first modern bra,” probably because a bra is a pretty logical garment and many women were making their own before you could just buy them at Macy’s.  Plus if you look outside “Western” society there are lots of examples of bras “modern” or no.  Anyhow, my favorite “birth of the bra” story is that Caresse Crosby made the first “modern” bra in 1913 by sewing two hankies folded in half like triangles with ribbon straps.  …then she sold the patent and so began the male-run multi-billion-dollar lingerie business.

…it only took 97 years to get back to something resembling the simplicity, and customization, of two hankies and some ribbon.  Women’s underwear is much more comfortable that it used to be, (thank goodness I never have to wear a girdle attached to a bra!) probably both because women have more of a hand in the design of undergarments, and also because the men in the industry have more realistic views of women, their bodies, and what’s comfortable.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 9:53 am

    OMG!!! My left breast is a cup size larger than my right. It’s not really noticeable..until i put on certain bra’s. I hate it.. while one side fits the other is bulging out somewhere. I’m so happy. who is the designer and where can i get one?

    • August 4, 2010 10:09 am

      FAIL! Apparently this company says that it is impossible to be a 34d on one side and a 34 c on the other.

  2. August 5, 2010 11:23 am

    Brilliant! I don’t have problems with uneven breast sizes, buuut, my right hand IS bigger than my left? Is it weird that I go against the average of left side being bigger? Frankly, I feel my left side is slimmer – maybe it’s just me. That’s my good side.

  3. August 14, 2010 6:58 pm

    this is genius.
    my twin is always complaining about this, im totally sharing the link!

Leave a Reply

