Skip to content

American Apparel Has a Beauty Code. Of Course.

July 12, 2010

It should really come as no surprise that American Apparel has a strict dress code for their employees, but a beauty code that insists on the subtle, understated, and natural is pretty amusing, especially coming from a company that sells lace body suits.

Some of the notes from American Apparel management for female employees, as posted on Gawker.com:

a) Makeup is to be kept to a minimal- please take this very seriously. Liquid eyeliner, pencil eyeliner and eyeshadow are advised against; mascara must look very natural (ie. should not be clumpy or a color that does not compliment your skin and haircolor). Blush must not be overdone- should not have glitter or sparkles. Liquid foundation is prohibited (undereye concealer is understandable if it looks natural- ie. not clumpy or caked on, must match your skin tone). Please do not use a shiny gloss on your lips; any lipcolor must be subtle.
b) Eyebrows must not be overplucked. Full eyebrows are very much encouraged. Please do not dye your eyebrows a different color.
c) We encourage long, healthy, natural hair, so please be advised of the following:
-Hair must be kept your natural color.
-Blow-drying hair excessively could cause heat damage, so this is advised against.
-“Bangs” or “fringe” are advised against. It is not part of the direction we’re moving in.

And, some of the notes for male employees:

a) Hair should look natural. Excessive product to the extent of creating stiffness and an unnatural or greasy appearance to your hair is advised against.
b) Eyebrows should be natural. Please do not dye your eyebrows a different color or overpluck them.
c) Males should not wear makeup.
d) Facial hair needs to be kept clean and well groomed. Any mustache or goatee of a contemporary style are advised against.
e) No gauges allowed whatsoever.

There’s a popular article on Gawker.com about this and other criteria American Apparel use (including their “head-to-toe” photo policy for hiring new employees), with employee’s perspectives: Life at American Apparel: The Employees Speak

And, American Apparel issued an official statement about this here.

115 Comments
  1. Summer permalink
    July 12, 2010 8:56 am

    Are they serious!! I wouldn’t want to work there!!

  2. July 12, 2010 9:05 am

    Interesting site – I’m researching culture. Lots of good articles to scan in Dress Codes.
    In your ‘About’ – I agree some folks take clothing way to serious…
    I nailed 4 outta 5 of the management for males. 🙂

  3. vhively permalink
    July 12, 2010 9:07 am

    Holy crap! That made me cringe. How over demanding and stereotypical could a brand be? A company that has to have everyone look the same, but natural. You probably have to wear their clothes as well.

  4. chongin permalink
    July 12, 2010 9:09 am

    Man, I never knew..

  5. July 12, 2010 9:09 am

    Are they in kindergarden? OMG! Even Barbie has a looser dress code than that. And I thought that dress code was too restrictive when I worked at Mattel and designed for Barbie. I wouldn’t have lasted a minute at American Apparel.

  6. Karen permalink
    July 12, 2010 9:09 am

    Whoa! so Interesting!! I guess its good that they are promoting natural beauty? No?? hahaha!!

  7. July 12, 2010 9:11 am

    Hmm…that’s quite a detailed list of things to follow. Makes me wonder what my companies policies are…I’ve never looked and I come in with a pretty shabby beard most days!

  8. clerisy permalink
    July 12, 2010 9:15 am

    LOL, I’d love to find out what the policy is for Abercrombie & Fitch. “We encourage people to have no shirts on.”

    • July 12, 2010 11:20 am

      lol i wonder if they illustrate this in the employee handbook!

    • July 12, 2010 3:28 pm

      Haha clerisy… Funny 🙂

    • waistline32 permalink
      July 12, 2010 5:46 pm

      nice!

  9. July 12, 2010 9:16 am

    I would not want to work for a company that micro-managed so much…and to think I thought the lawyer dress code was strict. gheez!

    http://lawyergal.wordpress.com/

  10. July 12, 2010 9:20 am

    I really really have a problem with them telling me I cannot dye my hair (A NATURAL COLOR, THAT I WILL UPKEEP!), my hair must be kept long(None of their business what length I keep it unless I’m in a job where long hair needs to be kept up), Blush should not be overdone? WELL YA! I can’t over dry my hair (well i hope i don’t overdry it), Bangs or Fringe(it’s not a green mohawk). No shiny lipgloss? Even if it is clear?(Nazi’s!)

    Here is a nicer way of saying it…

    Although we understand people wear makeup we prefer our employees not wear foundation so it does not accidentely wipe on the clothes.
    We wear very mininimal, not heavy and natural looking makeup (no sparkles, glitter or non neutral eyeshadows, liners), natural full eyebrows are much preferred. Hair color must be kept a natural hair color, if it is dyed another natural color, please keep it looking professional and healthy.

    They should actually look at the person when they interview them so they could tell if the person had overdryed orange hair with bangs, shiny lips, shimmer blush and eyeliner with drawn on eyebrows with sharpies before hiring them!

    Oh, sorry for the long post..I will never shop there now, they sound like complete idiots that don’t appreciate their employees. And the lace bodysuit…shame!

  11. July 12, 2010 9:23 am

    And so American Apparel continues to always somehow annoy … Fascinating blog — I’ll definitely be back to visit and read!

  12. Forget Me Nots permalink
    July 12, 2010 9:27 am

    So women are not allowed short hair?! How funny that they are allowed to do this, does this not go against “freedom” I love that they say “it is not the direction we are hoping to go in”
    Great piece, maybe punk and alternative stores should have a code saying “eyeliner is advised, hair kept it’s natural colour is not advised…”
    Especially from American Apparel this is quite commical.

    • codywords permalink
      July 13, 2010 2:17 am

      If that’s you in your picture, my hair looks similar, and I’m just as offended by that statement!

      I can appreciate that they want their employees to look natural. I like that, even. But really… “Males should not wear makeup.” Huh. Isn’t that against human rights? If their female employees are allowed to, so are the men.

  13. July 12, 2010 9:49 am

    I find it hard to believe there aren’t any bottle blondes working there. How ridiculous to mention ‘blow drying’ in a dress code. I’m sure Abercrombie has similar standards. I remember applying for a job there in high school and they never called me. I couldn’t shake tha “what I’m not hot enough” feeling for months.

  14. July 12, 2010 9:50 am

    That’s hilarious. Thanks for the summary!

  15. tashination permalink
    July 12, 2010 9:53 am

    LOL @ ”Bangs” or “fringe” are advised against. It is not part of the direction we’re moving in.

    Who knew bangs were a direction.

  16. Ted permalink
    July 12, 2010 10:07 am

    I opened this post thinking i would disagree….. but i must say i agree with them. With the exception of the “fringe” remark and telling them what kind of eyeliner to use, i think these are pretty reasonable rules. I’m not fond of walking into a store where the employees look more synthetic than the mannequins.

    • Abby permalink
      July 12, 2010 11:30 pm

      It’s not that that people are getting upset about.. It’s about the extream conformity they’re creating.

  17. July 12, 2010 10:11 am

    Wow. Nothing like shopping in a store that has clones as employees.

    Wait, who shops there?

  18. greatwhitecoyote permalink
    July 12, 2010 10:15 am

    haha. i had a friend who was a manager at american apparel and before they can hire someone they have to send a photo of the person to corporate for approval. although i know several people working there who do not fit the above guidelines. also, they can only wear american apparel clothes while they are on the clock. they are given a store credit allowance and a certain percentage discount at the beginning of the year to purchase their work attire.

  19. July 12, 2010 10:16 am

    Am I the only one who wasn’t shocked by this dress code?

    The entire list of requirements (for both women and men) can be summer up in one line: don’t be fake.

    You can all whine about dying your hair, plucking your eyebrows to pencil thin lines, and caking your face in make-up, but I for one am glad that American Apparel is telling it’s employees to stop looking redonkulous.

  20. lauren permalink
    July 12, 2010 10:25 am

    i thought at first that it was going to be ridiculous rules they have to follow but frankly, I kinda agree with them. I mean it’s not THAT bad, if anything it would be easier getting ready in the morning and less time consuming. Personally I think people look better with the natural looka nd not a lot of make up

  21. July 12, 2010 10:26 am

    I wonder what made the management come up with such rules.. There could be many if we all speculate! And it would also depend on whether we see the company as good or evil. :))

  22. July 12, 2010 10:33 am

    Insane!!! I mean, I would consider myself to have a natural make-up style and I use a light layer of liquid foundation because I have a blushing problem and I wear eyeliner to highlight my eyes. But it’s not a ‘make-up look’, the eyeliner isn’t heavy and the foundation looks natural! I also have a thick fringe and I have some highlights in my hair! By their account I would be completely unsuitable to work in their store, yet I’d be considered the most natural in my group of friends!

  23. July 12, 2010 10:34 am

    And how much do they pay these people? Minimum wage? I’m all for “come to work put together and practice good hygiene” but no bangs? Are they hazardous to the work place?
    Why is every sentence of mine a question? Am I that perplexed? 🙂

  24. July 12, 2010 10:35 am

    My friend told me they also discourage from hiring minorities or anyone who has typically african features. Sad sad company. Plus, their clothes are hideous… just saying.

  25. July 12, 2010 10:48 am

    By being this narrow minded they are loosing out on what other can bring to the table. Individuality is important, without each of us being able to express ourselves how we want whats the point? Agreed, their clothes aren’t cute!

  26. July 12, 2010 10:54 am

    Wow. Craziness.

    Check Us Out! A Little Place For Some Internet Traffic Road Rage!
    Road Rage with A & A

  27. July 12, 2010 11:00 am

    Wow…high maintenance company, huh? What an interesting post…thanks for sharing!
    http://www.denwrites.com

  28. onsundaymorning permalink
    July 12, 2010 11:09 am

    I don’t doubt this one bit. I have met the owner several times and known a few people that have worked at their corporate office LA offices. The stories made me cringe. He is one sick person.

  29. July 12, 2010 11:19 am

    oh my..is it true..?!? awesome 😉

  30. July 12, 2010 11:20 am

    Oh my! Lol. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Cheers, Niconica
    http;//niconica.wordpress.com

  31. July 12, 2010 11:22 am

    Wow. That is quite crazy. I wouldn’t have expected that from American Apparel. You would think that they would encourage their employees to be different since they cater to a more artsy crowd. I’m surprised they are even allowed to have a “Beauty Code”. My hair is short, coloured, fringed and I love eyeliner so I guess I won’t be applying there any time soon.

  32. July 12, 2010 11:22 am

    Hmm. On the one hand good on them for encouraging natural beauty and attempting to stop these kids all looking the same with their matching hair and make up. On the other hand I think they may be taking it a liiittle too far, particularly with the ‘hair rules’. Surely a few summer highlights on one of their staff members would not divert them too much from the direction they are moving in…

  33. July 12, 2010 11:24 am

    very good article

  34. July 12, 2010 11:25 am

    How is this legal?

    • July 12, 2010 11:39 am

      Not that I think this is right, but if I owned my own store I would hope I could set up whatever rules I wanted as it’s my store. Government doesn’t need to be in control of everything.

  35. July 12, 2010 11:26 am

    ohh, retail.

  36. July 12, 2010 11:37 am

    seems like fair demands to me

  37. July 12, 2010 11:40 am

    I’m with Rachel, how is something like this legal?

  38. July 12, 2010 11:43 am

    Oh my goodness. I would not be able to work there.

  39. July 12, 2010 12:06 pm

    Good heads up as to what is going on behind the scenes of American Apparel. It’s clear they are selling a lifestyle to a very narrow part of the population. I wonder if when they are hiring they discriminate based on the look of the potential employee? If so, I am pretty sure that this would fall under discrimination in the work place and the ACLU would be none too happy. There are dress codes necessary for public health such as closed toed shoes when working around food, or dress codes that enforce employees to dress in the given brand of the company, but when a company is telling employees how their eyebrows, hair, and make up should look it is a bit over the top.

  40. July 12, 2010 12:07 pm

    😦 How very sad. I couldn’t work there, either. It seems to me that this would be illegal.

    • July 12, 2010 12:19 pm

      I’m still of the impression that if you own your own company you should be able to hire whoever you want and set whatever rules you desire, no matter how ridiculous they may be. If you don’t like those rules don’t apply to work there. Government shouldn’t control those things unless it’s a government organization.

      • Michelle permalink
        July 12, 2010 6:22 pm

        You need to check the laws of your own country. Your “impression” is wrong. There are laws in place to prevent discriminatory hiring practices. Whether or not you like that, people fought hard for those protections and won. It’s illegal to require a photo with a job application in the U.S. (and Canada, where Dov Charney hails from), and there are many laws relating to just what a company can require in its dress code. The fact that you think that owning a store gives you a petty tyrant’s powers to discriminate, abuse and control your employees is disturbing. Because of people like you, the government _does_ need to put laws in place to prevent draconian “policies” like this.

        No big surprise that they don’t hire anyone who isn’t rail thin and white.

        And of course, Dov Charney’s sexual harassment of female staff is well known.

        This “dress code” is certainly overstepping American Apparel’s legal boundaries. It doesn’t matter, if the employees do not have the power to take the company to court over it. AA has fought hard to prevent their employees from unionizing (hello, Wal-Mart!)

      • abbie permalink
        July 12, 2010 10:26 pm

        Whether the government SHOULD get involved in these things, I don’t know. Obviously the AA “beauty code” seems goofily over-restrictive and unfair. However, as it stands today federal law via the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission only prosecutes certain very specific kinds of discrimination. To file a claim you must be able to prove you were discriminated against because of your race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information. Some state laws also cover other criteria, but more likely than not there is nothing to protect people whose applications are rejected because of their looks or their general style.

  41. July 12, 2010 12:19 pm

    Wow, no goatee or bangs?! Seems like natural beauty isn’t so natural anymore. Might even say it’s harder to attain than just being yourself!

  42. July 12, 2010 12:25 pm

    Our young people have enough to deal w/these days! They should be learning JOB SKILLS at this store, NOT worrying overmuch re: their appearance. This is sad…

  43. July 12, 2010 12:27 pm

    how Natural is Natural? Isn’t it natural to want to keep your hair the way you want? isn’t it natural to use make up the way you want? “natural” shouldn’t be stereotyped as that.

    I guess I am not natural anymore as I have a fringe.

  44. July 12, 2010 12:30 pm

    I think the beauty code should only be used on the AA models. But then again, I think theirs nothing wrong with keeping your appearance natural, although the hair length, color and style is a bit overboard. At least the management knows exactly what they are looking for in their employees.

  45. melinageekly permalink
    July 12, 2010 12:38 pm

    I actually think that this isn’t a bad dress code. It just seems like the company wants the people who come into their store to focus on their clothes, not on a worker whose hair is ten different colors and has giant gauges and five pounds of makeup on. Honestly, I think this is a step in the right direction. I mean, I can see where someone would be upset about the no eyeliner rule, but girls these days are wearing too heavy of makeup, anyways. If they would just chill, they would see that they don’t really need all of that fake crap on their face. And I’m pretty sure when they say to not dye your hair, they mean in crazy colors. I dye my hair, but it’s a natural looking color and not flamboyantly overwhelming.
    Plus there’s the fact that their whole style of clothing is just really simplistic and minimalist. It’s understandable that they want their worker’s dress and style to represent the same thing.

    I think adamsads said it best when they say that the main goal of them is to just not be fake. And I think that’s a really good message to give.

  46. July 12, 2010 12:40 pm

    Wonder if they could expand upon what is deemed…

    ‘d) Facial hair needs to be kept clean and well groomed. Any mustache or goatee of a contemporary style are advised against.’

    …Noticed in an ad for men, one model sports a mustache that could be considered ‘contemporary style,’ thus going against their own policy. Guess my family and I will be voting with our dollars and buying from someone else.

  47. July 12, 2010 12:50 pm

    Haha, that reminds me of the military dress code.
    Ah, wait.. actually, it is a militia of American Apparel clones. They’ll turn us all into lace body suits craving zombies.. help.

  48. July 12, 2010 1:04 pm

    Well surely this must be a company full of insane people who made such policies

  49. July 12, 2010 1:25 pm

    I was just about to get a gauge (?) and pluck my eyebrows because that’s the friggin DIRECTION I’m moving in, you lumps!

  50. July 12, 2010 1:27 pm

    lol i dont know whether to hate them for being so strict and controllling and limiting..

    .. or love them maybe for not wanting plastic assistants?

    i have heard bad things about AA though, asking employees to dress provoitively etc, and their founder isnt supposed to be the cleanest bee in the hive is he?

  51. July 12, 2010 1:32 pm

    Ridiculous-ity at its finest.

  52. July 12, 2010 1:32 pm

    Looks must be more important to CEO Dov ‘pig’ Charney then the troubles surrounding American Apparel including sexual harassments, lawsuits and employing (and probably taking advantage of) illegal immigrants. Nicely done…

  53. July 12, 2010 1:33 pm

    That’s a bunch of crap. If bangs or fringe “aren’t in the direction they’re moving in” then I would start moving in a different direction myself. Way to silence individuality, guys. Great job. Thanks for writing this and exposing just how stupid some people are.

  54. Nikki Beede permalink
    July 12, 2010 1:45 pm

    “Full eyebrows are very much encouraged”

    LMFAO this article made my day, I think they should have a little more faith in their employees
    Whoever came up with this dress code is a little neurotic

  55. July 12, 2010 2:02 pm

    Just another thing to say when I explain why I don’t shop there. Ark.

  56. July 12, 2010 2:18 pm

    Wow, and I thought my school had a rather restrictive dress code.
    Well, I don’t wear makeup but I have short hair and I have a fringe so there goes any chance I have. I keep my hair short as it’s quite thick yet fine so if it gets long it must be put up and it’s just a PITA (I went from super long to quite short) and I’ve always had a fringe ever since I was young so I would feel right without it.

    • Michelle permalink
      July 12, 2010 6:28 pm

      Don’t you know that only lesbians have short hair and bangs? We only want *natural* women with *natural long hair*. And of course we can’t have men wearing make-up and violating gender norms. Oh noes, scary homosexuals/gender deviants!

      Yeah, I wouldn’t get hired either, with my “butch” haircut *rolls eyes forever*

  57. July 12, 2010 2:23 pm

    wait. SAY WHATTTT?!

  58. Renee permalink
    July 12, 2010 2:42 pm

    Hilarious.

  59. Michelle permalink
    July 12, 2010 2:43 pm

    Dont be a victim, dont apply for a job here.

  60. Karin permalink
    July 12, 2010 2:43 pm

    I would tell them to suck it! LOL

  61. Jnpickens permalink
    July 12, 2010 2:52 pm

    This really surprises me. Their clothes to me scream flashy and model like. I would have figured they would have wanted cutting edge, contemporary hair cuts and flashy, cocaine model like make up.

    I had a male friend who tried to work there but I guess they didn’t take him because he wears foundation and gels his hair! lol

  62. July 12, 2010 3:25 pm

    It’s funny, I just went into that store yesterday and actually tried on that exact piece except in WHITE!! Hahah. It was more of a joke, but it was interesting, nevertheless. They want people in their natural state of beauty. I can understand that. Sometimes too much makeup and overdoing your looks is a distraction (and it’s not always too appealing, sorry).

  63. July 12, 2010 3:27 pm

    fascinating. for a company that provides the Uniform for hipsters everywhere, who love to think they are so different, it’s ironic to read of the extreme conventionalism lurking beneath the surface. the more I read about American Apparel, the more there is to dislike.

  64. July 12, 2010 3:34 pm

    Having worked in the hotel industry, these rules sound like a piece of cake.. somewhat. However, I think they could have definitely stated it to sound way better than this. I love the hair-dryer heat damage part… (SIGH & Shaking head) Thanks for sharing this post! 🙂

  65. July 12, 2010 3:48 pm

    – OMG THATS SICK!

  66. July 12, 2010 3:51 pm

    Wow… pretty out there. My favourite part was the encouragement of bushy eyebrows 🙂

  67. July 12, 2010 4:06 pm

    Hmm. I guess it does make sense – all of their ads look the way they’re asking their employees to look. Not that I condone it or don’t condone it but…it does make sense.

  68. July 12, 2010 4:08 pm

    I still like the Nordstom policy approach of ‘Use your best judgement’ and then managment coaches the staff as to what that really means.

  69. July 12, 2010 4:22 pm

    My favorite part was the part about eyebrow dying. Now, I’m honestly considering that. Hmmm, I think dark blue would look good with my skin tone.

  70. Natalie Scott permalink
    July 12, 2010 4:38 pm

    Oh my gosh and i wanted to work for them (forget it)

  71. tiffabee permalink
    July 12, 2010 4:50 pm

    Are they serious? This is totally ridiculous! How can they even enforce such nonsense?!

  72. July 12, 2010 5:09 pm

    I felt it was all fairly reasonable, with the exception of some of the hair requirements. Only hiring people with long hair is not cool, disallowing bangs is ridiculous (if they’re done right they can really add beauty to your face), and as long as the employee dyes their hair a natural-looking color without completely frying it, that should be fine. But everything else makes complete sense to me.

  73. July 12, 2010 5:18 pm

    Congrats on the Freshly Pressed! I love the concept of your blog, a different way to follow fashion. I’d love to know what you think of Victoria’s Secret’s dress and beauty code. It’s actually much less restricted now than when I used to work there. I think about 5 pages of my handbook was dedicated to the details (like what color polish my mandatory manicure and pedicure could be). And now that I’m an RN there are all sorts of things to comment on about the typically horrible scrubs…

  74. July 12, 2010 5:24 pm

    Oh my god.. Somehow I doubt that NONE of the males that work in some of the American Apparels all over the world wear make up.
    //Feeling

  75. July 12, 2010 5:35 pm

    Women must keep their hair long – but not blow dry it too much? —-The women must go into work with wet hair a lot.

    No mention on men’s hair length- guess the men can have bangs and fringe. I wonder if any bald guys work there? At least the men are allowed to heat-damage their hair.

  76. Janet permalink
    July 12, 2010 5:41 pm

    I can understand not wearing a lot of perfume because others may have an allergic reaction to it and a business attire dress code, but I think they are taking it to a whole other level. I mean really, many women do die their hair, wear makeup, and pluck eyebrows all to look better – even if they really don’t need to.It is a personal thing. I think it is outrageous for a company like this to go to such extremes.

  77. July 12, 2010 5:58 pm

    Wow that’s crazy! A friend and I just recently went into that store and laughed at all the ridiculous clothing they have. How are they trying to promote a “natural” look when they have neon leotards or shorts that might as well be underwear with lace tops to match?

  78. July 12, 2010 5:59 pm

    Great post–and I learned something when I googled “gauged.”

  79. July 12, 2010 6:00 pm

    hmm interesting.

  80. July 12, 2010 7:18 pm

    I never heard of soooooooooo many rules! But to each his own, I guess. You don’t have to work there, right?!? Who takes the time to think these up, let alone enforce them? Life is too short. . .I for one wouldn’t want to work there…

    evelyngarone.com

  81. July 12, 2010 8:14 pm

    This is crazy! I had no idea. I really don’t wear much make up anyway because I DO think little is more, but to be advised in a beauty code is ridiculous. Mascara must not be clumpy? Long, healthy hair with no bangs? Come on!

  82. July 12, 2010 8:45 pm

    aa wants their employees to maintain this forced, artificial naturalness because that’s what their brand is also based on. i mean, it’s a store people go to and pay $20 to buy a plain white T-shirt and look minimalist. how natural is that?

  83. July 12, 2010 9:08 pm

    wow. lots of people hating on the dress code.

    so what if AA wants to dictate how its employees represent the company? hate it or love it, it’s fashion. why wouldn’t the company want to control its own image? how many of the negative commenters on this post have even shopped at AA? let them do their thing. the store isn’t for everybody.

  84. July 12, 2010 9:30 pm

    Wow. Sounds like the Catholic school I used to go to. We couldn’t get away with shit.

  85. July 12, 2010 9:33 pm

    It’s their store; they can have whatever standards they like. People aren’t forced to work there, are they? I suppose the overly-made-up, overly-dyed, eyebrow-plucking folks probably wouldn’t be happy in that environment anyway, so … what harm is it doing? As a rather formal individual myself, I don’t resent the fact that the dredlocked tie-dyed goatee-sporting local cycle shop wouldn’t hire me because I look too uptight. I don’t resent the fact that the hipster coffee shop wouldn’t hire me because I don’t have tats and piercings. I’m pretty comfortable not working places where I don’t fit with the prevailing aesthetic/philosophy. But it seems a little nuts to criticize a company for having a prevailing aesthetic/philosophy … that’s what branding is about.

  86. July 12, 2010 9:36 pm

    Understated? More like Underage (in regards to the photo).
    And in regards to the company: I’ve had a handful of friends who have worked for AA and I’ve never heard one good thing about it. Not one. I understand that fashion has its phases and the natural look is gaining ground, if not taken over entirely, but it almost seems like good looks or -their- idea of good looks is the only criterion necessary to be hired. A friend of mine who currently works there was offering to get me hired at his store when I first moved to San Francisco–but when I asked what would be necessary of me and he said, “just like, a couple pictures”, I wasn’t into that idea. I don’t know if I could work at a place where the motto pretty much seems to be: you’re useless unless you’re pretty.

  87. July 12, 2010 10:06 pm

    I can’t believe this, this is just plain nuts. Why should hair length matter, and for that matter, what harm is it to have lip gloss? I’m a really natural girl, I don’t wear make-up, have the same natural hair color, but I’d go against this list just because it’s stupid.

  88. July 12, 2010 10:22 pm

    You have GOT to be kidding me.

    Honestly, I can understand a dress code. When you’re being paid to represent a company, they should be allowed to enforce a policy for what you wear; colour coordinate the staff, wear a uniform, etc. However, when you start getting specific about you’re hair colour and how you pluck your eye brows? They should skip the whole subtly about it and just say:

    DON”T BE YOURSELF!

    CONFORM! CONFORM!

    Natina

    http://crosswordcharlie.wordpress.com/

  89. Erin permalink
    July 12, 2010 10:50 pm

    Long hair only for girls?
    Now that’s just ridiculous. This is the modern world, a world where many women have short hair and many men have long hair. I find that very anti-feminist and just idiotic.

  90. July 12, 2010 11:09 pm

    I don’t know, but I doubt the clothes that are manufactured by a company like this produce clothes that one may call “organic” or “natural.” That is, I don’t think clothes from a company that would have this stringent (and awkward) a rule on the dress of their employees. I would much prefer to wear clothes made from merino, bamboo, hemp, wool, or organic cotton.

    With Love and Gratitude,

    The Intentional Sage

  91. July 12, 2010 11:09 pm

    Somehow I am going to assume that they’d be okay with super curly haired girls straightening though. They seem to be looking for a certain look, and if I showed up there with my natural curls they might have a panic attack. Now I’m actually curious about that.

    Some people…

  92. Abby permalink
    July 12, 2010 11:18 pm

    Wow.. They’re trying so hard to be something so specific.
    They’re forcing conformity, when they advertise individuality. I just lost a good amount of respect for that store.

    I used to want to work there, since they don’t photoedit their models, but that just disgusts me. I couldn’t work there anyway, even if I want to.

  93. July 13, 2010 12:54 am

    Oh now I get why I never got a call back from them!
    It’s the bangs! ha! Gotta love it!

    However, this is NOTHING! I’d rather have my employer tell me not to overdue makeup than tell me to spend more money on make up that I wouldn’t normally wear.

    I’ve never had a problem with personal appearance until my previous retail job. Can’t really publish their name but if curiosity kills you after you read this blog post I might tell you!

    http://hipcoulture.wordpress.com/2010/04/04/true-story-a-side-braid-warning/

  94. sayitinasong permalink
    July 13, 2010 1:41 am

    Isn’t that against employment law??!

  95. July 13, 2010 4:58 am

    Wow! I’m not surprised you made the front page with this.
    I’m glad I’ve never harboured an ambition to work for American Apparel. I would fail their beauty code on several scores.

  96. July 13, 2010 5:18 am

    This is on top of their Personal Hygiene code that seems like a good idea, but is also weird considering the founder and the conditions for some of its workers (sewers not retail side). I love spotlights like this one – thanks for sharing!

    http://PopSmartsZen.com

  97. July 13, 2010 6:49 am

    They seriously can’t be serious!
    No dying hair, no having thin eyebrows, no blow drying hair?!
    I think that should be the individual’s choices.
    This is unreal. I would not want to work here!

  98. July 13, 2010 7:38 am

    This. Is. Weird. Isn’t it just strange that American Apparel would put out these rules when some of their clothes completely defy that message? Still it’s pretty funny – what’s so offensive about a fringe?

  99. July 13, 2010 7:39 am

    This article was HUGELY entertaining. After I clicked on the website link and looked around, I could hardly stop laughing. These people are hilarious and must benutz to make so many demands on the employees; yet have their models cavort around in weird poses and strange outfits.

    Oh Yeah, and I’ll take two of those green pants “thingys” in a size XL. 🙂

    Thank you for bringing a smile to my face on this dreary Tuesday morning.

  100. July 13, 2010 8:13 am

    Although it is their company and no one was forced to work and abide their rules, but I have to admit their dress codes and rules are one of the most ridiculous things I’ve ever heard of.

  101. July 13, 2010 8:15 am

    WOW!! I’m actually speechless. How ridiculous…Any company that requires a full-length pic, that isn’t a model agency, is a no-go area for me. There’s just no need for it.

  102. July 13, 2010 8:54 am

    Why is there so much hate on this policy? People for some reason don’t like a company that micromanages so much but that proves to me that the company cares about its workers. Also the natural beauty thing is a good thing to promote, it’s better than promoting unnatural beauty to 13 year olds.

  103. July 13, 2010 9:11 am

    … As for the over plucked eyebrows… Maybe that should be a rule everywhere… 😉 However, it should NOT be a rule enforced by a company you work for.

    I wonder, if someone fit the criteria of employment by AA, what would happen if after the probation period they decided to go against this by colouring their hair and plucking their eyebrows while wearing red lip gloss and black eyeliner?
    Could they legally fire you for this? If you took them to court, would you win? Or would your employment “rightfully” have been terminated?

Trackbacks

  1. Fresh Pressed Black Lace « TheCassandra's Blog

Comments are closed.

